Greetings and Introductions!

15 Apr

Hello reading public, allow me to introduce myself!

My name is Jeff, and I’ve been a lifelong martial artist, starting off in Kung Fu and TaeKwonDo, graduating to Muay Thai and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu/Judo since college, and having dabbled in Sambo, Kali, and Collegiate Wrestling in the meantime.  I’ve always had a strong interest in the subject, but my life has taken me down a different path.  My day job strongly frowns upon bruises, broken bones and black eyes (personal experience), so I’ve found that I must express my interests in a different way.  Ergo, this blog!

Goals of the blog:


Having done martial arts for a large portion of my life, I feel I have a somewhat educated opinion on the techniques, history and evolution of martial arts in the modern world, especially in the phenomena of mixed martial arts (or “UFC” as some may call it).  My blog is meant to be a repository for the various insights, thoughts, and commentary on fights (historic or recent, important or minor), with a strong bias toward technique and fight strategy.  Furthermore, the focus will be primarily on combat sports  of all kinds (no boxing prejudice here!).  I find that traditional martial arts has long since grown stagnant and unrealistic, and no longer representative of the art of fighting, as it were.  From time to time I’ll likely editorialize (it’s my blog damn it!) and comment on recent martial arts news, but it’ll likely be few and far between.

Still, at the same time I recognize I’m but one opinion among many, and through the wonders of the Internet I’m sure there’ll be plenty of you out there who might disagree with me.  So the second purpose of this blog is to open up some friendly discussion over the various topics I’ll be covering.  Any thoughts are appreciated, although civil courtesy would be nice.

Without further ado, my first (actual) substantive post will be up shortly, and will cover a (probably) long forgotten fight in the Japanese Pancrase leagues, dating back to 1995.  Probably the FIRST encounter between the Lion’s Den catch wrestling elite (Frank Shamrock) and a Carlson Gracie BJJ blackbelt (Allan Goes).

2 Responses to “Greetings and Introductions!”

  1. arjun April 16, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    yo be sure to write about sweet pea!

  2. Willy G April 17, 2012 at 4:47 am #

    Hurry up and write that second post!

Leave a Reply

